World Cafe Playlist for 01/07/2020

The New Pornographers join host Raina Douris

There are currently eight band members in The New Pornographers. And like so much of their catalog, their latest album, In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights, is a big wall of sound. But there’s one song that is incredibly minimal, with frontman Carl Newman’s voice front and center. He’ll perform that song before an audience for the first time today, and we’ll hear more from the new record, live. Plus, Carl and bandmate Kathryn Calder share why there are so many car references in the new songs, and what it’s like to get nervous on stage.

*Raul Malo “Every Little Thing About You” Today
The New Pornographers “Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile” Recorded Live For The World Cafe
The New Pornographers “You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going” Recorded Live For The World Cafe
The New Pornographers “Higher Beams” Recorded Live For The World Cafe
Brandi Carlile “The Joke” By The Way, I Forgive You
Elton John “Levon” Madman Across The Water
Field Report “Breathe” Breathe (single)
The Shins “Kissing The Lipless” Chutes Too Narrow
Sorry “Right Round The Clock” 925
Radiohead “15 Step” In Rainbows
Siouxsie & The Banshees “Kiss Them For Me” Superstition

Hour Two
*U2 “Walk On” All That You Can’t Leave Behind

Latin Roots Series:
Kaytranada ft. Kali Uchis “10” Bubba
Christine & The Queens “Girlfriend (feat. Dam-Funk)” Chris
Haim “Now I’m In It” Now I’m In It (single)
Local Natives “When Am I Gonna Lose You” Violet Street
Michaela Anne “Run Away With Me” Desert Dove
Wilco “Box Full Of Letters” A.M.
Nicole Atkins “Girl You Look Amazing” Slow Phaser
Devon Gilfillian “Unchained” Black Hole Rainbow
Michael Kiwanuka “Hero” Kiwanuka
Ray Lamontagne “Hey No Pressure” Ouroboros
Samantha Fish “Bulletproof” Kill Or Be Kind
Bakar “Hell N Back” Will You Be My Yellow? EP
Bryan Ferry “Slave To Love” Boys And Girls

*Optional Song