World Cafe Playlist for 03/06/2024

Future Islands joins host Stephen Kallao

Sam Herring of Future Islands thought he was writing a record about being in love. It turned out to be a breakup album in disguise. The Baltimore band’s new album, People Who Aren’t There Anymore, is filled with their signature indie synth-pop sound. Future Islands join us to talk about making it, including having two people co-mix the album.

Listen to the session here.

Today’s Playlist
Steely Dan “FM” FM (soundtrack)
Future Islands “Give Me The Ghost Back” Recorded for World Cafe
Future Islands “The Tower” Recorded for World Cafe
Future Islands “Iris” Recorded for World Cafe
Future Islands “The Garden Wheel” Recorded for World Cafe
Future Islands “Sun In The Morning” WC Recording
Gary Clark Jr. “The Healing” The Story of Sonny Boy Slim
Stevie Wonder “Superstition” Talking Book
Future Islands “Seasons” WC Recording
The Black Keys “Beautiful People (Stay High)” Ohio Players
Vampire Weekend “Capricorn” Only God Was Above Us
Black Pumas “Ice Cream (Pay Phone)” Chronicles Of A Diamond

Hour Two
10,000 Maniacs “What’s The Matter Here” In My Tribe
Pete Yorn “Someday, Someday” single
Brandi Carlile “You and Me on the Rock (feat. Lucius)” In These Silent Days
Deeper “Build A Bridge” Careful!
The Police “Driven To Tears” Zenyatta Mondatta
The Police “Walking On The Moon” Reggatta De Blanc
Low Cut Connie “Beverly” Live at the World Cafe
Arlo Parks “Green Eyes” World Cafe Session
The Zutons “Creeping on the Dancefloor” The Big Decider
Ty Segall “My Lady’s On Fire” Freedom’s Goblin
The War On Drugs “Holding On” A Deeper Understanding
Tedeschi Trucks Band “Midnight In Harlem” WC Recording
Maggie Rogers “Don’t Forget Me” Don’t Forget Me
The Head and the Heart “Let’s Be Still” Let’s Be Still
Odie Leigh “No Doubt” No Doubt
The Kinks “Stop Your Sobbing” Greatest Hits