World Cafe Playlist for 10/04/2022

Jeff “Skunk” Baxter joins host Stephen Kallao

Jeff “Skunk” Baxter was a member of Steely Dan and The Doobie Brothers before becoming one of the most accomplished session musicians in the industry – You can hear his guitar work on iconic songs, like “Nine To Five” by Dolly Parton and Donna Summer’s “Hot Stuff.” But he never recorded a solo album until now. On the World Cafe, Baxter shares about Speed Of Heat, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer talks about his OTHER career working on ballistic missile defense for the U.S. government thanks to his interest in the physical fundamentals of music.

Stream the complete show here

*Paula Cole “Happy Home” Harbinger
Skunk Baxter “My Old School” Speed Of Heat
Skunk Baxter “Bad Move” Recorded live for the World Cafe
Donna Summer “Hot Stuff” Bad Girls
Dolly Parton “9 to 5” 9 to 5 And Odd Jobs
Beethoven “Symphony No.6, Op. 68, No I” Beethoven Symphonies Nos. 6 and 1
J.S. Bach “Toccata and Fugue in D Minor” Bach JS: Great Organ Works
Pink Floyd “Money” The Dark Side of the Moon
Skunk Baxter “The Rose” Speed of Heat
Steely Dan “Bodhisattva” Countdown to Ecstasy
Doobie Brothers “Wheels Of Fortune” Takin’ It To The Streets
Joni Mitchell “In Grace They Kiss on Main Street” The Hissing Of Summer Lawns
Beabadoobee “The Perfect Pair” Beatopia
Beck “Tropicalia” Mutations
Broken Bells “Saturdays” Into The Blue
Lucius “Next To Normal” Second Nature

Hour Two
*Dire Straits “Expresso Love” Making Movies
Christone ‘Kingfish’ Ingram “Another Life Goes By” single
Ben Harper “With My Own Two Hands” Diamonds On The Inside
Blondie “The Tide Is High” Autoamerican
Momma “Rockstar” Household Name
Weezer “Buddy Holly” Weezer
Lissie “Night Moves” Carving Crayons
Leanne La Havas “Is Your Love Big Enough?” Is Your Love Big Enough
Mt. Joy “Evergreen” Orange Blood
Roxy Music “Love Is The Drug” Siren
Stevie Nicks “For What It’s Worth” single
Jean Dawson “Pirate Radio” Pirate Radio (single)
John Mayer “No Such Thing” Room For Squares
Maggie Rogers “That’s Where I Am” Surrender

*Optional Song