World Cafe Playlist for 12/16/2020

The Waterboys joins host Stephen Kallao

Over the last four decades, Mike Scott’s artistic curiosity has led to all sorts of sounds from his band The Waterboys. This time, he explores spoken word throughout their new album, called Good Luck Seeker, as he spins tales about actor Dennis Hopper and the iconic Bleecker Bob’s record store in New York City. Today we’ll find out what inspired the new record, plus Scott reinterprets his biggest hit, “The Whole of The Moon”.

*Los Lobos “One Time, One Night” By The Light Of The Moon
The Waterboys “The Soul Singer” Good Luck, Seeker
The Rolling Stones “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” Sticky Fingers
The Waterboys “Dennis Hopper” Recorded Live for the World Cafe
The Waterboys “Bleecker Bob’s” Recorded Live for the World Cafe
The Waterboys “The Whole of the Moon” Recorded Live for the World Café
World Party “Private Revolution” Private Revolution
Prince “When You Were Mine” Dirty Mind
Low Cut Connie “Private Lives” Private Lives
Mazzy Star “Flowers In December” Among My Swan
Neil Young “Unknown Legend” Harvest Moon
Nicole Atkins “Every Single Christmas” Every Single Christmas (single)
JD McPherson “North Side Gal” Signs & Signifiers

Hour Two
*Brandi Carlile “The Joke” Recorded Live for the World Café
The Highwomen “Crowded Table” The Highwomen
The Highwomen “Redesigning Women” The Highwomen
John Prine “I Remember Everything” I Remember Everything (single)
Brittany Haas “Candy Girl” Brittany Haas
Black Pumas “Fire” Black Pumas
The War and Treaty “Are You Ready To Love Me?” Healing Tide
Tyler Childers “All Your’n” Recorded Live for the World Café
Amanda Shires “When You’re Gone” My Piece Of Land
Margo Price “Letting Me Down” That’s How Rumors Get Started
Buddy Guy “Mustang Sally” Damn Right, I’ve Got The Blues
Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit “Hope The High Road” The Nashville Sound
Shawn Colvin “Nothin’ On Me” A Few Small Repairs
Lucinda Williams “Passionate Kisses” Lucinda Williams
Emmylou Harris “Easy From Now On” Quarter Moon In A Ten Cent Town

*Optional Song